Recent research projects include

Plant population dynamics (contact persons: prof. Juha Tuomi, Oulun yliopisto; e-mail: juha.tuomi(at)oulu.fi , FT Anne Jäkäläniemi, Metsähallitus; Elizabeth Crone, Harvard University, USA)

Habitat and climatic contributions to biodiversity of managed forest landscapes (contact persons: prof. Markku Orell, Oulun yliopisto: e-mail markku.orell(at)oulu.fi , FT Seppo Rytkönen, Oulun yliopisto)

Streams in the landscape. Effects of land use on biodiversity and ecosystem processes in boreal streams (contact person: prof. Timo Muotka, Oulun yliopisto; e-mail: timo.muotka(at)oulu.fi )

Composition and species richness of plant communities in relation to major environmental factors and heterogeneity in rich fen wetlands of Oulanka, north-eastern Finland (contact person: jarmo.laitinen(at)oulu.fi)

Community structure and interactions in northern stream ecosystems (contact person: prof. Timo Muotka, Oulu University; e-mail: timo.t.muotka(at)oulu.fi).

Ecosystem dynamics of old growth forest in response to wildfire disturbance (contact person: Dr. Peter Hobson, Ottley/Writtle College, UK; e-mail: Peter.Hobson(at)writtle.ac.uk).

Ecosystems of Oulanka-Paanajärvi region (contact person: doc. Kalevi Kuusela, Oulanka Research Station; e-mail: kalevi.kuusela(at)oulu.fi

Forest regeneration in high areas (contact person: prof. Eero Kubin, Finnish Forest Research Institute, Muhos Research Station; e-mail: eero.kubin(at)metla.fi).

Population and metapopulation dynamics in rare plants (contact persons: doc. Pirkko Siikamäki, Oulanka Research Station; e-mail: pirkko.siikamaki(at)oulu.fi, prof. Juha Tuomi; email: juha.tuomi(at)oulu.fi; doc. Jouni Aspi; e-mail: jouni.aspi(at)oulu.fi  Oulu University).

Population genetics in the capercallie (contact person: prof. Markku Orell, University of Oulu; e-mail: markku.orell(at)oulu.fi).

Potentiality of remote sensing and GIS in biodiversity assessments (contact person: prof. Miska Luoto, University of Oulu; e-mail: miska.luoto(at)oulu.fi).

Reindeer husbandry in multipurpose forest management (contact person: doc.Timo Helle, Finnish Forest Research Institute; e-mail: timo.helle(at)metla.fi).

Reproductive strategies in relation to resources and mycorrhiza (contact persons: researcher Minna-Maarit Kytöviita, University of Oulu; e-mail: minna-maarit.kytoviita(at)oulu.fi  and doc. Pirkko Siikamäki, Oulanka Research Station; e-mail: pirkko.siikamaki(at)oulu.fi, University of Oulu).

Sustainable tourism (contact persons: doc. Pirkko Siikamäki, University of Oulu; e-mail: pirkko.siikamaki(at)oulu.fi  and doc. Anne Tolvanen, Finnish Forest Research Institute; e-mail: anne.tolvanen(at)metla.fi).

Last updated: 28/3/2014