Researcher exchange | Partner institutes | Research networks

Both research and education activities of BRC-OULU rely on active international collaboration with our partners, and actions taken with local, national and global interest groups and research networks. Special attention is paid for the internationalization of doctoral students and postdoctoral researchers via research exchanges. In this way the cross-sectorial and intercultural benefit from the BRC-OULU activities for the society become fully exploited.


In general, all degree students of the University of Oulu can apply for a student exchange.There are several programmes and hundreds of universities to choose from. or more information on this please see exchange programme specific details in Broaden your Horizon guide.

Available exchange destinations are announced through a call for application when an application period begins. Application rounds are organised either by the International Sercvices (e.g. bilateral places) or the departments/faculties (e.g. ERASMUS) depending on the exchange programme. In a nutshell, European exchange programmes (ERASMUS and NORDPLUS) are coordinated by the departments and faculties. The International Services coordinates exchange programmes outside Europe. Please note that application periods and deadlines vary depending on the exchange programme. The programmes are:

Erasmus: Europe (coordinated by faculties/departments)
FIRST: Russia
ISEP: United States
Bilateral exchanges outside Europe: North America, South America, Asia, Australia
North to north: Universities in North America, Nordic Countries and Russia in the North
Nordplus: Nordic Countries (coordinated by faculty/department)
North-South-South: Africa
UNC-EP: United States


Shandong University, Jinan, China

Université de Savoie, Chambery, France

TU Berlin, Germany

IMMIP, Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-University Bonn, Germany

iPAT, TU Braunschweig, Germany

TU Bergacademie Freiberg, Germany

Max Planck Institute, Golm, Germany

Leibniz Universität, Hannover, Germany

University of Athens, Greece

University of Trieste, Italy

University of Udine, Italy

TU Delft, Netherlands

University of Tromsø, Norway

NTNU, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway

ETH, Zürich, Switzerland

KTH, Stockholm, Sweden

Luleå University of Technology, Sweden

Lund University, Sweden

Mid Sweden University, Sweden

Keele University, UK

Imperial College London, UK

University of California, USA

North Carolina State University, USA

Purdue University, USA


A.SPIRE - Sustainable Process Industry through Resource and Energy Efficiency PPP

Bio-based Industries Consortium - PPP program

CLEEN - Cluster for Energy and the Environment

EFPRO - The Association of European Fibre and Paper Research Organisation

EPSO - The European Plant Science Organization

FIBIC – Finnish Bioeconomy Cluster

FTP - The Forest-based Sector Technology Platform

IAPB - International Association for Plant Biotechnology

IBC-Finland - Industrial Biotechnology Cluster Finland

IUFRO - The Finnish Forestry Association

The Council of Oulu Region

Finnish Forest Industries Federation


Last updated: 13.6.2014