Research Council

Research Council supports the University Board in research-related matters. It is chaired by Professor Taina Pihlajaniemi, Vice Rector for Research.

Members of the Research Council 2018 - 2021

Chair: Vice Rector for Research Taina Pihlajaniemi
Professor Heli Jantunen, Faculty of Technology and Electrical Engineering
Professor Sanna Järvelä, Faculty of Education
Professor Jouni-Matti Kuukkanen, Faculty of Humanities
Professor Juha Pekka Lunkka, Faculty of Technology
Professor Tuija Mainela, Oulu Business School
Professor Mika Rämet, Faculty of Medicine (on leave 1.10.2020 - 31.12.2021; substitute Professor Juhani Junttila)
Professor Mikko Sillanpää, Faculty of Science
Professor Seppo Vainio, Faculty of Biochemistry and Molecular Medicine
Doctoral researcher Riikka Tumelius, Faculty of Humanities (1.1.2020 - 31.12.2021)

Secretary: Strategy officer Sirpa Aalto

More information:
Sirpa Aalto,

As a rule, the Research Council meets monthly. Research Council meeting minutes (in Finnish) can be quaried from Sirpa Aalto.