Outcome and innovations concerning the treatment of surgical diseases in the craniomaxillofacial region with specific focus on the cleft lip and palate deformity and in the regeneration of tissues using stem cell based therapeutic approaches

Research group information

Contact information

Research group leader

  • Professor
    George K. Sandor

Research group description

Our group’s research is focused on regeneration of the delicate tissues of the cranio-maxillofacial skeleton. This includes novel and unique bone augmentation techniques for the improvement of bone quality by means of modern bone induction techniques including stem cell therapy from various sources and the future use of differentiation media.

This group’s research is also focused on finding background systemic factors which are fundamental to many common cranio-maxillofacial diseases and deformities using several large cohorts as research material and by using modern molecular biological techniques in animal and clinical studies. The largest of these cohorts is the Northern Finland Birth Cohort 1966 in which oral and maxillofacial surgery collaborates closely with many allied dental and medical specialties. Another key cohort is that of Northern Finland Cleft Lip and Palate patients which represents a key focus of research in this unique population.

Our team

Where are we headed

These research projects are carried out with many multidisciplinary collaborators from several key institutes and have been the core of our cutting edge research in oral and maxillofacial surgery. We believe that these projects will bring new and applicable information and novel clinical techniques as related to the incidence and treatment of OMF diseases and to the use of stem cells to treat various types of cranio-maxillofacial deformities.

Our main collaborators

  • Susanna Miettinen, University of Tampere
  • Professor Willy Serlo, University of Oulu
  • Professor Lars Rasmusson, University of Gothenburg, Sweden
  • Professor Tym Forouzanfar, Free University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands
  • Professor Yong Deok Kim, University of Busan, Korea
  • Professor Bozidar Brkovic, University of Belgrade, Serbia
  • Boyan Vladimirov, Medical University of Plovdiv, Bulgaria

How to find us