THz circuit design for communications and sensing

Prof. Ullrich Pfeiffer
Lecturer's institute: 
University of Wuppertal, Germany
3.9.2019 08:00 to 5.9.2019 14:00

Host: Prof. Aarno Pärssinen (CWC-RT)

Location: University of Oulu

Tue 3.9. 08:00-09:45 IT113
10:00-11:45 TS126
12:15-14:00 TS101

Wed 4.9. 08:00-09:45 IT113
10:00-11:45 IT112
12:15-14:00 IT105

Thu 5.9. 08:00-09:45 IT106
10:00-11:45 TS128
12:15-14:00 IT135

Credits: 1 ECT for active participation
up to 5 ECTS personal design study (to be agreed separately)
Due to limited space please, register to the course sending an email to by 28.8.2019.

Course description:

This course will present an overview of silicon-based RF front-ends for imaging, radar, and communication applications operating close to and beyond the THz-gap. The presentation will focus on fundamentals on the component level, integrated antennas, heterodyne and direct detection techniques including a discussion about the available device technologies and the achievable bandwidth and sensitivity. Heterodyne examples include wideband IQ transmitter and receiver front-ends at 240 GHz for data transmission towards 100 Gbit/s, a circular polarized radar transceiver chip at 240 GHz with a range resolution of 3.65 mm, and a THz multi-color imager up to 1 THz.

Finally, incoherent SiGe sources with 0dBm up to 1/2 THz and THz video cameras in CMOS and SiGe process technologies operating up to 4THz are discussed.


Short Biography:

Ullrich Pfeiffer

Ullrich Pfeiffer received the Ph.D. in physics from the University of Heidelberg, Germany, in 1999. Till 2006 he was with the IBM T.J. Watson Research Center where his research involved RF circuit design and packaging for 60GHz communication. Since 2008 he holds the High-frequency and Communication Technology chair at the University of Wuppertal, Germany. His current research activities include the design of silicon integrated circuits for THz applications. Among other awards, he is the recipient of the 2007 European Young Investigator Award, the co-recipient of the 2004 and 2006 Lewis Winner Award, as well as the 2012 and 2017 Jan Van Vessem Award at the ISSCC Conference. He is am IEEE SSCS Distinguished lecturer, has authored and co- authored 200+ publications, and has been the co-inventor of 10+ US and international issued patents, relating to RF, millimeter-wave, terahertz communication/imaging circuits and sensors.

Last updated: 20.8.2019