Severity classification and reporting

The pain, suffering, distress and lasting harm caused to the animals in the procedure shall be assessed in the project application.

There are four severity categories

  • Non-recovery
  • Mild
  • Moderate
  • Severe.

Non-recovery means a procedure, in which the animal is anesthetised and euthanized after the procedure under the same anaesthesia.

The annex VIII in the directive as well as the EU working group give some examples for the classification.

ELLA evaluates the severity class of each project; this can differ from that given by the applicant. ELLA will decide if the retrospective assessment shall be done also of a project which is not in the category severe.

Severity classification after the experiment

Pain, suffering and distress caused to each individual animal, shall be classified after the animal has euthanized. This classification can differ from the original assessment. For the classification, it is necessary to follow up the welfare of the animal during all the procedures. In Provet, there is a statistics part, where the researcher can do the final severity classification for each animal used in her/his project.

Retrospective assessment

Retrospective assessment is carried out for the severe projects as well as the projects where non-human primates have been used.

The assessment will be carried out by the Regional state administrative agency for southern Finland and it is based on the information given by the principal researcher.

Book keeping and statistics

Responsibility of the licence holder is to take care that the use and classification of the animals in each project is given in Provet. KEKS will collect this information together and forward it to authorities.

Last updated: 23.12.2016