Hurtig Tuula & Veijola Juha

Neuropsychiatric Research Group


Research unit: Clinical Neuroscience


Group leaders

Docent Tuula Hurtig (PhD) and professor Juha Veijola (MD, PhD)


What do we do

The Neuropsychiatric Research group explores neuropsychiatric disorders using wide range of methods, from epidemiological methods to studies on brain structure and functions.

Docents Tuula Hurtig is responsible of studies on ADHD and autism spectrum disorders. Professor Juha Veijola is responsible of studies on psychotic disorders and psychosis risk.

Most study participants with neuropsychiatric disorder are members of the Northern Finland Birth Cohorts 1966 and 1986 (NFBC 1986; Especially, the NFBC 1986 is a unique prospective birth cohort, which enables reliable database of studying risks and consequences of the disorders. The group is a member of the PSYCOHORTS Consortium (, which aims to harmonize psychiatric data in eight large birth cohorts in Finland

In addition, psychotic disorders will be studied in the SUPER study ( Juha Veijola is responsible of cognition studies within the SUPER study.


Our team

Post doc researchers

  • Halt Anu-Helmi, MD, PhD
  • Jukuri Tuomas, MD, PhD

PhD Students

  • Björnholm Lassi
  • Kerkelä Martta
  • Mazumder Atiq
  • Palomäki Johanna
  • Protsenko Maria
  • Saarinen Aino
  • Taivalantti Marjo

Other researchers

  • Honka Ulriika
  • Huttunen Joel
  • Lindberg Sonja
  • Niskala Jani
  • Orell Olavi
  • Pudas Juho


Where are we headed

We are on the way of collaborating with other large birth cohorts with similar data sets. This will be possible with ALSPAC, Generation R and Saguenay Youth Study. With this collaboration, we will be able to produce high-level research in neuropsychiatric disorders.


Our main collaborators

Unversity of Cambrdge: PhD Jenny Barnett, Prof. Peter Jones, MD PhD Golam Khandager, MD PhD Graham Murray
Cincinnati Children’s Hospital: Prof. Stephen Becker
University of Lincoln: Prof. Alina Rodrigues
University of Toronto: Prof. Tomas Paus, Prof. Zdenka Pausova
University of Queensland: Ass. Prof. James Scott


University of Oulu: prof. Vesa Kiviniemi, prof. Mirka Hinstanen, prof. Marjo-Riitta Järvelin, docent Heljä-Marja Surcel, prof. Seppo Vainio
University of Helsinki: prof. Iiris Hovatta, prof. Aarno Palotie, prof. Tiina Paunio
University of Turku: prof. Andre Sourander
THL: prof. Mika Gissler


How to find us

Research Unit of Clinical Neuroscience
Department of Psychiatry
tuula.hurtig[at] or juha.veijola[at]

Last updated: 9.7.2019