Degree Programme in Geosciences

In the degree programme of Geosciences, there are three major subjects:

  • Geology and Mineralogy
  • Quaternary Geology
  • Geochemistry

The lower university degree (Bachelor's Degree, 180 ECTS cr) is common to all geosciences students.

The upper university degree (Master of Science degree, 120 ECTS credits) can be done in three lines of specialisation (study options):

  • Specialisation in Ore Geology (major subject Geology and Mineralogy)
  • Specialisation in Quaternary Geology (major subject Quaternary Geology)

The degree programme in geosciences provides the students with the capability to work as geoscience experts in a variety of duties both in the public and private sectors. They learn to apply their skills in exploration, mapping and exploitation of natural resources and solving different kinds of environmental problems. Apart from theoretical studies, laboratory and field studies play an important role in the education. Furthermore, practical training as summer workers in companies and other organizations of the field helps the students to get familiar with the potential future tasks and often provides an opportunity to make their Master’s thesis on a subject related to some practical geological problems. Because of the multidisciplinary nature of the study of the Earth and its natural resources, useful minor subjects include e.g. chemistry, physics, geography, biology, mathematics, computer sciences, process engineering, and environmental engineering.

Last updated: 13.6.2018