17th Science Day of the Campus of Kontinkangas


Dear Colleagues

It is my great pleasure to invite You all to participate in the 17th Science Day of the Campus of Kontinkangas on February 18th, 2020. The Science Day, which is organized jointly with the Faculty of Medicine and the Faculty of Biochemistry and Molecular Medicine, will include plenary lectures of invited speakers, oral abstract presentations, posters, and granting of awards such as the best thesis of the year and the best presentations of the Science Day.

This year, the Science Day focuses on the concept of “Value based biomedical research and healthcare” from the perspective of the individual and the population.   We are privileged to have Professors Hans Lund, Mikko Hallman, Tari Haahtela, Robert Winqvist, Markku Laakso and Marjo-Riitta Järvelin as distinguished plenary speakers. Their research is focused on evidence-based medicine, early growth and development, and genetic risk factors and biomarkers for chronic pulmonary diseases, breast cancer, type 2 diabetes, and other metabolic diseases.

Especially I want to invite young scientists to introduce their results as oral or poster presentations and I would encourage experienced researches to participate as well. The Science Day will be a comprehensive presentation of the diversity of research ongoing at our Campus.  Your active participation will be the basis for a successful meeting, Thank you all !

Please also see the blogs for Science Day https://www.oulu.fi/blogs/science-with-arctic-attitude/value-based-medicine  

Please follow these internet pages which will be updated as new information will be available.

I hope to see you all on the Science Day 2020 ! 

Johanna Uusimaa
Chairman of the organizing committee
Science Day of the Campus of Kontinkangas

Contact information

Chair of the organising committee, Professor Johanna Uusimaa,

Secretaries of the organising committee,
Pia Askonen pia.askonen[at]oulu.fi, tel. 0294 481200,
Anne Vainionpää anne.vainionpaa[at]oulu.fi, tel. 0294 485443

Contact person for abstracts: Ritva Näpänkangas