Research Units

In the Faculty of Technology high-quality research is carried out in all the focus areas of the University of Oulu. Reseachers cooperate actively with companies, research centres and with the public sector.

Research Units in the Faculty of Technology (1.1.2019 altogether 12 units)

Chemical Process Engineering
Professor Juha Tanskanen

Fibre and Particle Engineering
Professor Mirja Illikainen

Environmental and Chemical Engineering
Professor Risto Laitinen

Industrial Engineering and Management
Professor Harri Haapasalo

Intelligent Machines and Systems
Mechatronics and Machine Diagnostics
Lecturer Dr Toni Liedes
Systems Engineering
Professor Enso Ikonen

Materials and Mechanical Engineering
Professor Jukka Kömi

Oulu Mining School
Professor Saija Luukkanen

Oulu School of Architecture
Professor Janne Pihlajaniemi

Process Metallurgy
Professor Timo Fabritius

Sustainable Chemistry
Professor Ulla Lassi

Structures and Construction Technology
Professor Rauno Heikkilä

Water, Energy and Environmental Engineering
Energy and Environmental Engineering
Professor Eva Pongracz
Water Resources and Environmental Engineering
Professor Björn Klöve


Director Kasper Hahtonen

FabLab Oulu
Director Jani Ylioja











    Last updated: 14.3.2019