International Arctic Science Committee (IASC)

International Arctic Science Committee IASC is a non-governmental, international scientific organization.

The Founding Articles committed IASC to pursue a mission of encouraging and facilitating cooperation in all aspects of Arctic research, in all countries engaged in Arctic research and in all areas of the Arctic region. Overall, IASC promotes and supports leading interdisciplinary research in order to foster a greater scientific understanding of the Arctic region and its role in the Earth system. There are six working groups, for which every member country can nominate two representatives. Currently from the University of Oulu there is Docent Mervi Heikkinen in the Social and Human Working Group and  Professor Kalevi Mursula in the Atmosphere Working Group.





Last updated: 27.11.2019