Roy Wolfe Award to Jarkko Saarinen

The Association of American Geographers (AAG) has given the Roy Wolfe Award for geography professor Jarkko Saarinen from the University of Oulu. The award is for outstanding contributions to geographical research in the field of recreation, tourism, and sport.

Saarinen’s research interests include tourism development, impacts and sustainability and the use and construction of nature, local culture and indigeneity in tourism. Geographically his research focuses on northern peripheral areas, Arctic regions and southern Africa.

Saarinen is currently Associate Editor in the Journal of Ecotourism and his recent publications include books: Tourism and Change in the Polar Regions (2010, co-edited with Hall) and Tourism and Millennium Development Goals (2013, co-edited with Rogerson and Manwa).

The award honours Roy Wolfe, a former York University (Canada) professor who was a pioneer in the field of tourism geography. The AAG is a large international academic organisation with members from more than 60 countries.

Last updated: 19.4.2013