Societal Interaction

University of Oulu works in collaboration with many different networks promoting sustainable development and social responsibility.


University of Oulu is part of the UN Sustainable Development Solutions Network. The goal of SDSN is to find practical solutions through science and technology to implement the Sustainable Development Goals(SDGs). The representative of the University of Oulu also participates in the meetings of SDSN Northern Europe network.


The training school of the University of Oulu, Oulun Normaalikoulu, is part of the UNESCO Associated Schools network. The member schools participate in promoting the goals of UNESCO. The most important event of Oulun Normaalikoulu is the Week of Peace and Tolerance that is held in October. Oulun Normaalikoulu is also part of the Polaris network which is a network for UNESCO schools in Northern Finland.

University of Oulu Centre for Environmental and Respiratory Health Research (CERH) is the only academic unit in Finland that works in collaboration with World Health Organization (WHO Collaborating Centre in Global Change, Enviroment and Public Health 2014-2022).
Oulu Business School is part of PRME, the Principles for Responsible Management Education. PRME is a sustainability initiative supported by the United Nations Global Compact. PRME supports universities and higher education institutions providing teaching in business and management. It engages business and management schools to realize the United Nation’s Sustainable Development Goals (UN SDGs) through responsible management education, and to develop responsible leaders of tomorrow. As part of PRME Oulu Business School contributes to a sustainable future through responsibility-centered research and education in diverse fields and on various educational levels.
Oulu Business School has received the AACSB accreditation. AACSB Accreditation evaluates business schools according to 15 standards that focus on different aspects: strategic management, the quality of the school's faculty, students and processes, and the level of education programs and student learning. All AACSB accredited business schools must commit to corporate and social responsibility and proactive engagement towards diversity and sustainability.
University of Oulu researchers participate in the Interdisciplinary Network of Environmental and Sustainability Education Research SIRENE network. The purpose of the network is to promote collaboration between environment education and sustainability education researchers and to promote discussion between human sciences and natural sciences. University of Oulu has a representative in the board of SIRENE.
University of Oulu is part of the UniPID network which has been founded in 2002 to promote collaboration between universities related to international development. UniPID coordinates a virtual study module in sustainable development. University of Oulu offers courses to the study module. University of Oulu has a representative in the board of UniPID.
University of Oulu has a representative in the national IPCC working group in 2019-2022. The working group prepares the participation of Finland in the Intergovernmental Panel for Climate Change, IPCC.
University of Oulu is a member of Climate Leadership Coalition which is the largest climate-business network in the EU area by the number of its members. CLC works towards a transition to a climate neutral society and consumption in a way that is economically profitable, and that companies have the means to get adequate funding to develop necessary technological solutions to achieve this transformation. CLC makes suggestions to the EU and to the Finnish decision-makers on policies that could speed up the low-carbon transformation. CLC has ten theme groups that come together regularly. University of Oulu has appointed the following members to the theme groups: Prof. Eva Pongracz (Carbon handprint and footprint), Prof. Riitta Keiski (Transport), Prof. Pauliina Ulkuniemi (Circular economy), Prof. Mirja Illikainen (Circular economy), director Jani Ylioja (Civic engagement), Prof. Harri Haapasalo (Construction and Finance), Prof. Maria Kopsakangas-Savolainen (Energy), prof. Henrikki Liimatainen (Forest) and project manager Risto Jurva (ICT).