New Arctic Five Fellows presented at the Symposium at Luleå University of Technology

The Arctic Five Symposium was held at Luleå University of Technology, Sweden, on August 31 to September 1, 2023. In the symposium new Arctic five Fellows, who were appointed after an open call organised in spring 2023, presented their fellowship research projects. During the symposium several discussion groups were also working including Arctic Five Chairs and Working groups of education and research.
Symposium participants standing outside in front of the building

The Arctic Five Fellows initiative aims to support emerging scholars’ entry into fields of Arctic research and research cooperation. There are two categories under fellows: Doctoral students and Post-Doctoral Fellows, all together 17 Fellows were selected, two from University of Oulu. PhD student Otto Kärhä, Sodankylä Geophysical Observatory, presented his research project “Digitization of Scandinavian Magnetometer Array data” and Post Doctoral researcher Ritesh Patro, Water, Energy and Environmental Engineering at Faculty of Technology, presented his project “Understanding the climate-water-energy-food nexus related to Hydropower”.

The Arctic Five is a partnership between Luleå University of Technology, UiT The Arctic University of Norway, Umeå University, the University of Lapland, and the University of Oulu, and together we aim to lead the way on Arctic issues. Through this alliance we advance and share knowledge, develop education, undertake research and create innovations for the development of our region and a sustainable Arctic.

In the photo from left Arctic Five Executive Committee member Kirsi Latola, Thule Institute, Arctic Five Chair Mervi Heikkinen, Faculty of Education and Psychology, Arctic Five Fellows Ritesh Patro and Otto Kärhä and on the right Emeritus Professor, University of Lapland Lassi Heininen.

More information:
Arctic Five Fellows selected

Last updated: 20.10.2023