What is University Consortium?

University consortia are part of the Finnish higher education system since 2004. They operate in six locations: Kajaani, Kokkola, Lahti, Mikkeli, Pori and Seinäjoki.

University consortia implement the third statutory mission of Finnish universities: furthering the social impact of research and education. Their impact is based on research in support of regional development as well as Master’s, postgraduate and adult education programmes, which enhance the regional education level.

University consortia gather university activities under a single umbrella in six provincial centres which do not have a university. The objective is to intensify cooperation between the universities and to develop collaboration with regional universities of applied sciences, business and commerce.

The purpose of the Kajaani University Consortium is to improve the educational level of the region,  and to serve region's business community.

Universities in Kajaani perform multi-disciplinary, international level research, provide research-based teaching and promote lifelong learning in chosen fields. The University Consortium interacts with society and promotes the regional impact of the universities.

The universities involved in the University Consortium of Kajaani are University of Eastern Finland, University of Lapland, University of Jyväskylä and University of Oulu. The University Consortium activities are coordinated by University of Oulu. Kajaani University Consortium is a department of University of Oulu. The first agreement between universities was signed on 11.6.2004.

Last updated: 16.7.2018