Arctic Cooperation

Thule Institute manages the University of the Arctic (UArctic) Thematic Networks Leadership Office and coordinates the University of Oulu's participation in the Arctic Five Collaboration and the Arctic Researchers' Network.

University of the Arctic (UArctic)

University of the Arctic (UArctic) is a cooperative, multidisciplinary network of universities, colleges, research institutes and other organizations working together in education, research and knowledge sharing in and about the Arctic. Members are from the Arctic eight countries (Arctic members) and other countries in Europe and Asia (non-Arctic members).

The University of Oulu is one of the founding members of the UArctic and has a vital role in both the leadership of UArctic and in developing joint activities and networks.

The rector of the University of Oulu Jouko Niinimäki is the vice-chair of the UArctic Board of Governors, and visiting professor Jeffrey Welker the UArctic Chair in Ecology and Biogeochemistry. Docent Mervi Heikkinen (Faculty of Education) is the Primary Council representative and docent Harri Saarnisaari (Centre for Wireless Communications CWC) is the Alternate Council representative from the University of Oulu.

UArctic Thematic Networks Leadership Office hosted by the Thule Institute

The UArctic Thematic Networks Leadership Office is located at the Thule Institute. It supports Thematic Networks, which link educational, research and outreach activities in key issue areas. Besides the overall coordination of UArctic Thematic Networks, the office services aim to enhance research cooperation and improve conditions for funding.

Vice-president networks Kirsi Latola, planner Heli Niittynen, coordinator Hannele Savela and post-doctoral researcher Anastasia Emelyanova work for the office. Issues related to the Thematic Networks, including guidance for the establishment of the new ones are handled by the vice-president networks Kirsi Latola and manager of thematic networks Heli Niittynen.

Read more about UArctic

Arctic Five collaboration

The successful future of northern and Arctic areas requires joint efforts from different fields and regions, for example in education and research, and in the development of sustainable societies, economies and investments. Strong collaboration makes it possible to benefit from one another’s solutions, best practices and provides synergies that strengthens our voice internationally.

The Arctic Five (Arctic5) is a forum for collaboration of the five universities in the northern Fennoscandian region –The University of Oulu, The University of Lapland, Luleå University of Technology, UiT -The Arctic University of Norway, and Umeå University. Thule Institute is coordinating the University of Oulu’s participation in the collaboration.

Collaboration takes place in six thematic areas:

  • Education
  • Energy
  • Health
  • Mining
  • Regional development
  • Indigenous issues

Various workshops, meetings, courses and seminars are arranged in the thematic areas, leading to new and innovative joint educational programs, exchange programs, research consortia and projects in the future.

Two researchers from the University of Oulu are appointed as Arctic Five Chairs for two years (2022-2024), with the possibility of an additional 1-year extension:

Anastasia Emelyanova, Arctic Five Chair in Healthy Ageing and One Health

  • Postdoctoral Researcher at the Thule Institute, whose research interest include Arctic and northern health and well-being, policy, healthy ageing, age-friendly community, and public spaces.

Mervi Heikkinen, Arctic Five Chair in Feminist STS*

  • Docent and University Researcher at the Faculty of Education, whose research interest include big-data, epistemic contribution, gender equality, higher education, human capabilities, intersectionality, and Indigenous knowledges.
  • *STS stands for Science and Technology Studies or Studies on Technology and Society

Read more about The Arctic Five

Arctic Networks (Arctic Researchers' Network)

The eight faculties and the research units at the University of Oulu form a strong science community, which makes it possible to do groundbreaking, multidisciplinary research. Our heritage as one of the northernmost multidisciplinary universities in the world is invaluable now, when mankind’s new growth frontier is to the North. The demanding conditions of the far north have always forced people to be innovative and resourceful. We call this Science with Arctic attitude.

Activities in the Arctic science and technology fields at UOulu relate to all strategic focus areas. To highlight the importance of multidisciplinary topics and to promote cooperation between research groups UOulu has established a platform for scientists working on Arctic topics at the UOulu. The network has 157 members at the moment (September 2022) . You can join the network by link below.

The network platform is coordinated by the Thule Institute, together with the UOulu’s Arctic Interactions science profile area (ArcI), the Kvantum Institute as well as with other focus institutes. The network promotes also actions of the Arctic Five (A5) cooperation. UOulu´s researchers as well as the researchers of research institutes in UOulu campus areas are invited to participate in the network.

Join the Arctic Researchers' Network

Join the Arctic Researchers' Network: Workspace for the Network (MS Teams) .

Join Thule-institute’s mailing list. It helps you stay up to date about ARN, Arctic cooperation and other current issues: Mailing list.

You can ask more information by contacting Planner Timi Kärki, timi.karki(at)