Instruct-ERIC course on macromolecular X-ray, electron, and neutron crystallography 2023

Instruct-ERIC course is organized in May 29-June 2, 2023, at the Faculty of Biochemistry and Molecular Medicine, University of Oulu, Oulu, Finland to provide an introduction on X-ray, electron, and neutron protein crystallography.

Event information



Venue location

Faculty of Biochemistry and Molecular Medicine, University of Oulu, Aapistie 7, Oulu, Finland

Add event to calendar

The aim of the course is to provide an introduction on the methods of X-ray, electron, and neutron diffraction in protein crystallography for PhD students and postdocs whose research project focuses on solving protein structures using crystallography. This extensive course consisting of lectures and tutorials addresses principles, differences and application of crystallography using X-rays, neutrons, and electrons. Tutorials include data processing (XDS), experimental phasing (long wavelength), molecular replacement phasing and neutron structure refinement. Participants of the course have the possibility to collect X-ray diffraction data remotely at MAX IV during the course using their own crystals.

The course is hosted by the Faculty of Biochemistry and Molecular Medicine (FBMM) and Biocenter Oulu and supported by the Instruct-ERIC, MAX IV Laboratory and the Health and Biosciences Doctoral Programme of the University of Oulu.

There is no registration fee. Applications for the course can be submitted at the latest on April 10, 2023, using the link below. Please also indicate if you plan to send crystals. The course has limited participation due to the tutorials, but the lectures are open onsite and streamed to a wider audience. Acceptance to the course is announced on April 14, 2023.


Edward Daniel (University of Oulu, Finland)

Kay Diedrichs (University of Konstanz, Germany)

Ana Gonzalez (Max IV Laboratory, Lund)

Tim Grüne (University of Vienna, Austria)

Deepti Gupta (EMBL-EBI, UK)

Andrey Lebedev (CCP4, UK)

Jie Nan (Max IV Laboratory, Lund)

Esko Oksanen (ESS, Sweden)

Bernhard Rupp (Medical University Innsbruck, Austria)

Dimitris Triandafillidis (Universität Hamburg, Germany)

Armin Wagner (Diamond Light Source, UK)

Briony Yorke (University of Bradford, UK)


Sudarshan Murthy (University of Oulu, Finland)

Johan Pääkkönen (University of Oulu, Finland)


View the detailed program here.

Registration for online participation:

Register here.


Lari Lehtiö (lari.lehtio(at)

Rik Wierenga (rik.wierenga(at)

Tiila-Riikka Kiema (tiila.kiema(at)

Kristian Koski (kristian.koski(at)

Pia Askonen (pia.askonen(at)

Last updated: 2.6.2023