Oulu Sinfonian Kamarimuusikot and pianist Paavali Jumppanen will perform at Salaastinsali on Friday 4

Pianist Paavali Jumppanen and Oulu Sinfonian Kamarimuusikot will perform at Salaastinsali on Friday 4 November 2022 at 18:00. Admission to the concert is free. A self-published coffee service is available during intermission.
Pianist Paavali Jumppanen.
Paavali Jumppanen

Event information



Venue location

Saalastinsali, Oulun yliopisto

Add event to calendar

Brahms and Dvořák, among the greatest composers of the nineteenth century, capable of integrating the lesson of their great predecessors and adapting it to their time by innovating it.

In the years of his maturity, Dvořák's musical language begins to show the influence of Brahms' Classicism - considered at the time the representative of the "conservative" line-up as opposed to Wagner the "progressive" - and to favour the presence of rhythms and melodies inspired by Czech popular music, never copied or revisited but always freshly created from scratch.

A relationship of mutual esteem and friendship was established between the two composers and it is thanks to Brahms that Dvořák's music began to become popular, circulating more easily in Europe.

Oulu Sinfonian Kamarimuusikot together with the extraordinary Paavali Jumppanen, will perform two of their masterpieces in two unmissable events.

The students and staff of the University of Oulu and the University of Applied Sciences are welcome to come and hear the musicians play at the Linnanmaa campus, Saalastinsali, on November 4th at 18:00. There will be another concert in the Tulindberg Hall in the Oulu Music Center, on November 5th at 15:00. Entry is free for that concert also.

Come and experience with us all emotions and colours in the palette of chamber music!


"A chamber dream"

Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)

Piano Quartet in G minor n.1, op. 25 (1861)

I. Allegro

II. Intermezzo: Allegro ma non troppo - Trio: Animato

III. Andante con moto

IV. Rondo alla Zingarese. Presto

Maija Wesslund, violin

Susanna Nietula, viola

Greta Ernesaks, cello

Paavali Jumppanen, piano


Antonin Leopold Dvořák (1841-1904)

Piano quintet in A Major, n.2, op.81 (1887)

I Allegro, ma non tanto

II Dumka: Andante con moto

III Scherzo (Furiante): Molto vivace

IV Finale: Allegro

Dhyani Gylling, violin

Maija Wesslund, violin

Susanna Nietula, viola

Greta Ernesaks, cello

Paavali Jumppanen, piano

The concert lasts about 1 h 40 min with intermission.

Last updated: 11.10.2022