Faculty Board

12 members are elected to the Faculty Board for a four-year term at a time. There are three professors, three other members of staff, three students and three memebers outside the university. The current term is from 1 January 2014 to 31 December 2017. The term of the student members is two years from 2014 to 2015. The Dean is the chairman of the council and Vice-Dean acts as a vice-chair. The term of the Dean and the Vice-Dean is the same as that of the Faculty Board. The decisions in the Faculty Board meetings are through a motion process and the Chief Administrator of the Faculty acts as a presenter.

The role of the Faculty Board is to:

  1. to approve the strategic programme of measures of the faculty and determine the required resources that are in accordance with the University Strategy;
  2. to monitor and, where necessary, guide the implementation of the programme of measures;
  3. to determine the general principles for the action and financial plan of the faculty; and
  4. to approve the action and financial plan as well as the personnel plan of the faculty, which will be confirmed by the University rector on the part of the professorships;
  5. to monitor the operations and finances of the faculty; and
  6. to monitor and guide communication of faculty affairs to personnel and students.

Last updated: 27.6.2014