The University Board will be reduced to 11 people, new Chair for the University Collegium

At its meeting on 7 September 2021, the University Collegium has elected Professor Tiina Kinnunen for the new Chair of the Collegium after Juhani Niskanen retires. Kinnunen is the Chair until the end of the current term, which is 31 December 2021, after which the new University Collegium will start to operate. 

The student members Maria Anca Catana and Zacharias Hellberg have resigned from their positions. By the decision of the Student Council of the Student Union of the University of Oulu (OYY), they are replaced by substitute members Jukka Turunen and Nuuti Vasari. The Student Council votes the substitute members for Turunen and Vasari later. In addition, the Student Council named Janne Kilponen to become substitute member for Erno Oikarinen and Emma Hulkkonen for Anni Vakkuri.

The University Collegium decided that the number of members on the Board of Directors for the term 2022–2025 will be reduced from 12 to 11. Staff, professors and students will each have two members on the new Board. Staff and professors will elect their representatives to the University Collegium and the Board of Directors by administrative elections, which will take place in the autumn of 2021. Student Council elections will also take place this autumn.

In addition, five outside members of the university community are appointed to the Board of Directors. Therefore, only one member will be elected to replace Sakari Kallo, the current Chair of the board, and Anni Huhtala, whose turn is to resign from the Board. The University Collegium has named Risto Kerkelä, Tiina Kinnunen, Pirkko Viitala, Juha Ahola, Anni Vakkuri and Teemu Virtanen to prepare the election of the outside members of the Board of Directors. The chair of the election group is Tiina Kinnunen.

More information:

The University Collegium

The Student Council Elections

Last updated: 8.9.2021