Eight young doctors from the ECE research unit were conferred in May 20th, 2017

Eight young doctors from the Environmental and Chemical Engineering research unit were conferred in the 10th Conferment Ceremony of the University of Oulu on May 19-21, 2017. The conferred doctors from left to right are Minna Pirilä, Satu Pitkäaho, Kati Oravisjärvi, Tiina Pääkkönen, Johanna Niemistö, Piia Juholin, and Jenni Ylä-Mella (Jenni's Principal supervisor was Professor Eva Pongacz, Energy and Environmental Engineering). Absent from the picture is Pekka Harju-Autti, his Principal supervisor was Research Professor, Emeritus Erkki Alasaarela. Professor Riitta Keiski (in the middle) was the Principal supervisor or Supervisor of all conferred doctors.

From the Faculty of Technology three honorary doctors were conferred in the ceremony. Two of them, Ecocat India CTO, Lic.Sc.(Tech.) Matti Härkönen and Emerita CNRS Research Director, Professor Danielle Ballivet-Tkatchenko, are in the picture on the right. Dean, Professor Riitta Keiski is in the middle. The third conferred honorary doctor was professor Lauri Lajunen.

The Doctoral Conferment Ceremony takes place every four years and is the most traditional and biggest academic celebration of the University. In total, 23 honorary doctors and 283 young doctors from all ten faculties of the University were conferred in the ceremony.


Last updated: 23.5.2017