University of Oulu, 2016

Other Activities

Thule Institute cooperates with national and international research and higher education institutes, networks and organisations and in the Arctic Council working groups.


Thule Institute is an active partner in several pan-Arctic networks and EU-projects, including EU Arctic cluster projects. Examples of these activities can be found below.

  • EU PolarNet - Finnish representative. EU PolarNet –Connecting Science with the Society is a H2020 funded project where Thule Institute is partner and as task leader on work package 4 focusing on stakeholder engagement. Thule Institute is national Finnish representative in the project and represents all Polar research at the University of Oulu as well. EU-PolarNet is the world’s largest consortium of expertise and infrastructure for polar research. Seventeen countries are represented by 22 of Europe’s internationally-respected multi-disciplinary research institutions. From 2015-2020, EU-PolarNet will develop and deliver a strategic framework and mechanisms to prioritise science, optimise the use of polar infrastructure, and broker new partnerships that will lead to the co-design of polar research projects that deliver tangible benefits for society. By adopting a higher degree of coordination of polar research and operations than has existed previously the consortium engages in closer cooperation with all relevant actors on an international level.


    • European Polar Board -Thule Institute has national Finnish representation at the EPB together with the Arctic Centre at the University of Lapland. In addition Thule Institute’s research coordinator Kirsi Latola is currently acting as the chair of the EPB. The European Polar Board (EPB) is an independent organisation that focuses on major strategic priorities in both the Arctic and Antarctic regions. Current EPB membership includes research institutes, funding agencies, scientific academies, and polar operators from across Europe. Since 2015, the EPB has been an independent entity, with its Secretariat hosted by the Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO). Established in 1995, the EPB was an Expert Board of the European Science Foundation formed to provide strategic advice on Arctic and Antarctic issues. The EPB envisions a Europe with a strong and cohesive polar research community, wherein decisions affecting or affected by the polar regions are informed by independent, accurate, and timely advice from the EPB. The EPB has a mission to improve European coordination of Arctic and Antarctic research by optimising the use of European research infrastructure. We promote multilateral collaborations between our Members and provide a single contact point for the global polar research community. We advance the collective knowledge of polar issues, particularly in the context of European societal relevance.




    Thule Institute takes part in national and international research strategy work, aimed at focusing research into areas that are important and topical from the point of view of society. An example of those is the LYNET Luonnonvara- ja ympäristötutkimuksen yhteenliittymä (in Finnish).

    Last updated: 3.8.2018