Arctic Five collaboration

Successful future of the northern and Arctic areas requires joint efforts from different fields and regions, for example in education and research and in the development of sustainable societies, economies and investments. Strong collaboration makes it possible to benefit from each other’s solutions and best practises and provides synergies that strengthens our voice internationally. 

The Arctic Five (Arctic5) is a forum for collaboration of the five universities in the northern Fennoscandian region –The University of Oulu, The University of Lapland, Luleå University of Technology, UiT -The Arctic University of Norway, and Umeå University. Thule Insitute is coordinating the University of Oulu’s participation to the Joint Arctic Agenda (JAA) collaboration.

The collaboration takes place in thematic areas, including Education, Energy, Health, Mining, Regional development and Indigenous issues.

Various workshops, meetings, courses and seminars are being arranged in the thematic areas, potentially leading to new and innovative joint educational programs, exchange programs, and research consortia and projects in the future.

Event: Online seminar How do we build climate-resilient societies in the Arctic? May 9, 2019 at 13:00-14:00 Finnish time.

Learn more about the Arctic Five collaboration from here.


Last updated: 9.8.2019