The Geographical Society of Northern Finland

The Geographical Society of Northern Finland is an active scientific society, which is located at the Geography Research Unit, University of Oulu. It has been an essential part of the identity of academic geographers of Northern Finland since the year of 1963. Following its objectives, the Society serves as a link between geographers and other scientists representing adjacent fields of science. The society arranges meetings and other happenings, publishes two scientific open access series (Nordia Geographical Publications and Nordia Tiedonantoja). The Society also aims to support the activities of young geographers in particular.

The members of the Society convene twice a year for a general assembly. The Nordia Evening, which is held every year, is an important geographical meeting in Northern Finland giving opportunities for both experienced and young geographers to present their research to the public and publish an overview of their work. The Society also seeks to organise excursions for its members. Recently, the Society has specialized in short excursions within Northern Finland to foster co-operation networks with alumni geographers and institutions with geographical interests. Excursion are regulary organized together with geography students.

The board of the Society consists mainly of the personnel and students of the Geography Research Unit. The membership fee of the Society is 8 euros per year for students and 18 euros per year for others. In return, all members will receive an announcement letter on a regular basis and Nordia Yearbook at the end of each year. Furthermore, membership will give the opportunity to take part in various activities arranged by the Society.

The board of the Society in 2020

President
Dr Janne Alahuhta (janne.alahuhta@oulu.fi)

Vice-president
MSc Mari Partanen (mari.partanen@oulu.fi)

Secretary
MSc Ville Kellokumpu (ville.kellokumpu@oulu.fi)

Treasurer
MSSc, MSc Aapo Lunden (aapo.lunden@oulu.fi)

Notary
MSc Eerika Virranmäki (eerika.virranmaki@oulu.fi, psms.notaari@oulu.fi)

Editor-in-chief
MSc Olli Karjalainen (olli.karjalainen@oulu.fi)

Members
MSc Maija Toivanen (maija.toivanen@oulu.fi) (communication representative)
BSc Janne Kirjavainen (janne.kirjavainen@student.oulu.fi) (Atlas student organization representative)

Nordia Geographical Publications

Since 1967 the Society has been engaged in scientific publishing activity. In autumn 1994, the Geographical Society of Northern Finland and the Geography Research Unit at the University of Oulu made decided to publish in co-operation, and thus were born two series of publications, "Nordia Geographical Publications" and "Nordia Tiedonantoja".

The NGP YEARBOOK is published each year. The YEARBOOK has three main aims: firstly to present a cross-section of the works in the field of geography in Northern Finland, secondly to publish collections of articles dealing with various current areas of interest and themes in geography, and thirdly to publish papers presented in the symposia arranged by the Geography Research Unit of the University of Oulu or by the Geographical Society of Northern Finland.

How to order?

Please contact the notary by e-mail (psms.notaari@oulu.fi) and inform your name and delivery address, and the issue you are willing to buy. We will send the issue with an invoice as soon as possible.

Already published in Nordia Geographical Publications (ISSN 1238-2086).

University of Oulu Geography Research Unit
Box 8000, 90014 University of Oulu
Finland